Lekker Lacquer

Nails, nails, nails. What more do you need?

Floral Stamping

12 Comments

Can you believe it, this is my first stamping post! I’ve had a phobia of stamping, and I finally plucked up the courage to attempt a stamping manicure to share 🙂

I used Konad stamping plate number m71 (you can see it in one of the pics). For the undercoats I used two different Missha blues (they don’t have names, hence the lack of info). Then, I topped it all off with a Shimmer Topcoat (It’s in Korean – “Shwimmer Topcoat” in the picture if you can read Korean) from the Face Shop which I just bought today.

It doesn’t look like much, but it took me AGES to do. I stamped the one nail and then painted a topcoat and it smudged. So I had to start that whole nail again! Arg! But despite the frustrations, I really like it! I hope you all like it too 🙂

Photo 2013-01-04 11 37 51 PM Photo 2013-01-04 11 46 02 PM Photo 2013-01-04 11 49 48 PM Photo 2013-01-04 11 54 16 PM

Photo 2013-01-04 11 29 47 PM

I absolutely love this topcoat, its so subtle, but it’s such a pretty shimmer. I think it will look nice with lots of different polishes. Yay! I love a good polish purchase 🙂 And it was only about $3 🙂

Author: Talia

I'm a South African who loves art and creativity. Did I mention I'm addicted to nail art?

12 thoughts on “Floral Stamping

  1. My stamps always smudge when I apply a topcoat. Especially if I use seche vite- that stuff is goopy and makes the design drag… and also blurs the edges of the stamp.
    I found that if I put a thin layer of a watery clear polish over top of my stamp- that seals the design in well. My Orly Bonder basecoat is very watery so i apply that and it doesn’t smudge it at all. Then I put a regular topcoat or seche over top of it all to finish it off.
    That’s what works for me!

    • Thanks! I’m glad I’m not alone with that! I thought maybe I wasn’t waiting long enough for the stamping to dry, but you are right! I just put that shimmer topcoat on and it’s runny and thin, so as long as I did it in exactly two strokes (not overlapping) it didn’t smudge. As soon as I tried to brush over it a couple of times it smudged badly! Another reason why I’m not a huge fan of stamping! 🙂 But, I suppose when you know all the tricks it gets better 🙂

  2. These are really good! I like the colors and the top coat. I’ve nominated you for the Sunshine Award, check it out at http://wp.me/p2Ouk8-dm

  3. i like the way you’ve stamped on the index and ring fingers (i always end up just doing the ring finger as an accent) I see you have one already but I’ve nominated you for a sunshine award 🙂 http://wp.me/p2K2xL-bb

Leave a Reply

