Lekker Lacquer

Nails, nails, nails. What more do you need?

New look blog.. new look nails!

11 Comments

So, I spent a large portion of this morning fiddling with my blog and trying to make it more user friendly. I changed my theme and made a new heading. My new theme allows drop down menus at the top. I really really like it! Look up at the top of the page to see it πŸ™‚Β  I’m very happy with it. What do you think?

But why stop there? I also tried a new technique today. I’ve seen a tutorial on YouTube ages ago, but I decided to give it a try today. It’s called “spun sugar” nails, here is a tutorial that you can check out, but there are tons online.

I did a very simplistic, minimalistic design. I just used black and white. I painted a single line down the center of the nail in the opposite colour. Then I did the “spun sugar” technique alongside the solid line. I really like how it turned out. Do you?

blackandwhite2.jpg blackandwhite3.jpg blackandwhitenails.jpg

 

Author: Talia

I'm a South African who loves art and creativity. Did I mention I'm addicted to nail art?

11 thoughts on “New look blog.. new look nails!

  1. I like the new look. It’s cool how the new pages have dropdowns that bring up posts based on their keywords. What’s that option called? ?

    • Thanks! I’m not sure of the official term, but it’s a 2nd menu (nav menu) only some themes have this option where you can make drop down menus (and still have your home, about menu) that’s why you have to check “navigation” when you look for themes and it should say it has 2 menus πŸ™‚ There are very few free ones that have this option. I really like it though!

  2. LOVE that you did the lines vertical rather than horizontal!!! I want to try this mani!!!! πŸ˜€

    • Thanks! I think the spun sugar technique is harder when it’s vertical (because you can’t go around the finger easily) but I wanted to do it differently πŸ™‚

  3. Love the new look. Looks really great.

    Also love the nails. I think you nailed it (haha excuse the pun!!! )

  4. Ooh, you are so much better at that spun sugar thing than I am! Great mani πŸ™‚

  5. I don’t like it, I LOVE IT!!!!!! I must try this! Currently I have a neon yellow base with red “blood” splats on it. It doesn’t look sugarspun though… So must check that out!

    • Thanks! The trick is to leave the polish for quite a while so it’s dried a bit, then it becomes stringy. Some polished work better than others though πŸ™‚

  6. I like your new look! It’s calm, and I happen to like calm blogs. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

