Lekker Lacquer

Nails, nails, nails. What more do you need?

South Africa – Ndebele Manicure

9 Comments

In 8 days I’m going to be getting on a plane with 46kg of my life in a bag and moving back to South Africa. I’ve got a lot of mixed emotions about the move back. On the one hand I’m really excited to see my friends and family that I haven’t seen in a year. But on the other hand I’m unemployed and moving to the big city.

Anyways, it got me thinking about South Africa. I decided to to a manicure of Ndebele murals. They are famous for their beautiful, colourful patterns that they paint on their houses. I absolutely love it. I think it really shows how vibrant and unique South Africa is. We have 11 languages, and tons of different cultures in our country.

I used lots of different colours, and I couldn’t tell you how I did it. I just looked at a picture and tried to copy some of the designs. I’m also going to enter this in Mommy Loves Polish’s competition on Facebook, so please check it out and support this great competition.

Here are the pics of the nails, what do you think? I hope you like it..

Africa5.jpg

Africa4.jpg Africa2.jpg Africa3.jpg

These are the pictures of the Ndebele designs:

29885830

ndebele-painted-gateway_11330_600x450

For those of you that are South African Nail Art bloggers, or would like to start, join the South African Nail Art community on Facebook at SA Nails.

Author: Talia

I'm a South African who loves art and creativity. Did I mention I'm addicted to nail art?

9 thoughts on “South Africa – Ndebele Manicure

  1. They’re incredible (both your nails and the houses!) such bright beautiful colours.

  2. See you found your inspiration… and it’s just PERFECT! Lovely!

  3. Omg I LOVE it and you did it so beautifully!!!!

  4. beautiful!!!! I would never have thought about it and I absolutely love it!! So colourful!

    • Thanks!! I’m glad you like it! I love Ndebele houses, so I just had to do it! I think I’m going to do it again one day, but much simpler and maybe with a tutorial 😉

  5. Pingback: Best of 2013 | Lekker Lacquer

Leave a comment